Language Arts


    We are using the reading series by Macmillan/McGraw-Hill called Wonders.  We are very excited about this series as it incorporates a balanced literacy program. It focuses on phonemic awareness, phonics, grammar, vocabulary, writing, and reading comprehension. Below I have listed the Unit Themes in our 1st grade reading program.

    Start Smart - Review Kindergarten Concepts 

    Unit 1 - Getting to Know Us

    Unit 2 - Our Community                

    Unit 3 - Changes Over Time

    Unit 4 - Animals Everywhere

    Unit 5 - Figure It Out

    Unit 6 - Together We Can!

    *It is extremely important that your child reads at home every night. You may choose a higher level reading book to read and discuss aloud with your child, or you may have your child read a book on his or her grade level independently.  Please try to have your child spend at least 10 minutes each night with a book.

    *Please practice all of the high-frequency words that are sent home at the beginning of each new unit. The high-frequency words are from our reading series. These words are to be reviewed often. The students will be tested on them during each unit.  



                            Happy Reading